Real Property Fees
REAL PROPERTY RECORDING FEES
|MORTGAGE TAX (Round up to the next $100)||$0.15 per $100|
|DEED TAX (Round up to the next $500)||$0.50 per $500|
Please check requirements listed at the bottom of this page.
BASIC RECORDING FEES
|EACH ADDITIONAL PAGE||$3.00|
|EXTRA INDEXES OR REFERENCES||$1.00 (allow 2)|
UCC-1 FINANCING STATEMENT
|FIRST TWO PAGES||$29.00|
|EACH ADDITIONAL PAGE AFTER TWO||$2.00 (each)|
|EACH ADDITIONAL DEBTOR AFTER TWO||$1.00 (each)|
|NON-STANDARD FORM FEE||$5.00|
Additional fee for indexing each name in excess of two entries in the direct index or two entries in the reverse index.
Additional fee for releasing more than one book and page number.
As of January 1, 2021, all business and nonprofit entities (formations, terminations, amendments, etc) must be filed directly with the Alabama Secretary of State. Individual counties will no longer accept these transactions. Please refer to the new Alabama ACT: 2020-73.
For online services, visit the Alabama Secretary of States website at https://www.sos.alabama.gov/
We suggest you contact the Office of the Secretary of State, Business Entities, (334) 242-5324, or send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org with any questions you have as they may relate to Act 2020-73, and the changes mandated by said Act.
|COPIES (Per page)||$1.00|
|CERTIFICATION FEE (Per document)||$5.00|
SIMULTANEOUS RECORDING OF DEED AND MORTGAGE
The mortgage tax and fee for recording the mortgage will be calculated as mentioned above. The deed tax will be figured on the amount of the sale price exceeding the amount of the mortgage. If the mortgage is to a tax-exempt institution, full deed tax is due based on the value of the property or full purchase price.
CHECKLIST/REQUIREMENT FOR REAL PROPERTY RECORDINGS
- Instrument prepared by: Instrument must show the name and address of the preparer.
- Marital status of Grantors or Mortgagors.
- Mailing Address of Grantees or Mortgagees.
- Complete legal description including Plat Book or the Section, Township, Range.
- Signed and notarized.
A self-addressed, stamped envelope is required with all mailed envelopes. Please provide a return envelope large enough to hold the documents. Documents are returned the day after being recorded.
Documents should be legible originals or certified copies.
Please call the Probate Office at 334-774-2754 if you have any questions or problems computing your fees, or any unusual documents to record. Our goal is to record all documents without any unnecessary delays.